Monday, February 9, 2015 10:20 PM

Week 5

I was able to attend a baptism this week.  The baptism was for the son of one of the members of the Spanish Group.  Mine and my companion’s role at the baptism was to teach a lesson of our choice while the son and father went back to change their clothes.  We taught the Restoration Of The Gospel, in Spanish or course.  It actually didn’t go bad, for my companion at least.  I felt that I struggled to get through it all.  I taught 3 parts of the 8 part lesson.  So I am improving since I am able to teach a lot more.  I was able to talk for a good 8-12 minutes in total, with constant speaking.  And it also helps my confidence a lot since I am able to perfectly share the First vision in Spanish.  After the baptism when everyone was leaving for the gym to go eat, since I’ve noticed that Hispanic people love eating together, some of the members came up to my companion and I and told us that the spirit was actually at its strongest during the lesson we taught, which I thought was weird since the primary focus of the event was the baptism.  Hearing this was very bitter sweet for myself personally.  I did one of the most important things a missionary is supposed to do, which is to convey and share the power and feelings of the spirit with others, but the problem for myself was that I unfortunately did not really feel it while my companion and I gave the lesson. . . Either way though, it was nice to hear this.  I know that is only because of the spirit that I was even able to say what I said.  Without it, there wouldn’t have even been words in my mouth to choke on.

Also, I got hit by a car this week. . . .Now that that has sunk in, let go of that because I didn’t really get hit.  Earlier ilast week, it was raining pretty hard, and 1 of the mission rules is to always have the companion of the designated vehicle driver stand behind the car to assist in backing it.  I was waiting outside of the car for my companion to get in and begin backing it, but while I was waiting, I started to stare up at the sky in the other direction.  My companion usually waits for me to look at the car when he begins backing, but couldn’t tell that I wasn’t facing the car since it was dark outside.  Since I am biracial and was also wearing all black, this caused me to blend in with my surroundings, so he just starting backing and smashed my hand leaving an aggravating purple bruise, which healed after a day.  Abnormally fast actually.  We both just laughed though.  He said he had heard a loud “Thunk” on the car, and I told him it felt like my hand had just been hit by a hammer on its backside.  It was just so humorously abrupt that neither of us really knew how to respond.  I was staring at the sky when all of a sudden I felt a surge of pain in my hand, and saw a large metal object adjacent to me.  We just laughed and went on with the evening.  It wasn’t a big deal, just something that allows me to say, “I got hit by a car on my mission.”  Not really though.

Sorry that I didn’t share much this week.  I will make sure to have no less than 2 spiritual stories next week to share.

I still don’t like the language that much still.  Personal study is always nice, since I can study whatever I want, but language study isn’t exactly something I look forward to.  I get through it anyways though.  The sooner I can speak effectively the better.   This email was Short but hopefully sweet.

Hope everyone likes the few photos I sent.  I am working on my smiling since I know that is am important characteristic of good missionaries.  Although I am happy to be out here, I am not very effective at notifying my face of this.  In both of these pictures, both smiles were fake, but sooner or later the smiles will become real.  I shall have the spirit to thank for that.

Sincerely,

Elder Adam R. F. Scoville

This is a less active family that my companion and I have been working with.  The father's name is Gumencindo Hernadez.  His wife was in another room on the phone.  We have been working with getting them back into the habit of praying and scripture study.  Their daughter Jasmine on the far right is a huge help since she read inner scripture on her own without being told to.  They attend church regularly and are already one of the pillar families in the group.
This is a less active family that my companion and I have been working with. The father’s name is Gumencindo Hernadez. His wife was in another room on the phone. We have been working with getting them back into the habit of praying and scripture study. Their daughter Jasmine on the far right is a huge help since she reads in her scriptures on her own without being told to. They attend church regularly and are already one of the pillar families in the group.
This is a picture of my District going out to eat at a restaurant called Gyros.  Starting from myself and going around the table: Elder Scoville, Ruesch, Carpenter (my companion), Aiken, Tikoenaivalu, Doyle, and Sister Maughn, Anderson, LeBaron, and Hughes.  Sister Hughes was unfortunately cut out of the image which I did not find out until later that day.
This is a picture of my District going out to eat at a restaurant called Gyros. Starting from myself and going around the table: Elder Scoville, Ruesch, Carpenter (my companion), Aiken, Tikoenaivalu, Doyle, and Sister Maughn, Anderson, LeBaron, and Hughes. Sister Hughes was unfortunately cut out of the image which I did not find out until later that day.
Leave a Reply

