June 1, 2015 – Rejuvenating Mission Conference

Week 22

There wasn’t much that happened this past week.  It was kind of
uneventful.  Just a lot of finding, door knocking, and street
contacting.

But I did have a Mission Conference this past Saturday.  Elder Brent
H. Nielsen of the 1st Quorum of the 70 came and spoke to my mission
again.  He spoke in General Conference this past April and he spoke in
my last Mission Conference a few months ago.  He is a very
knowledgeable man.  He even did a Q&A with the missionaries of my
Mission for about an Hour on top of everything else he discussed with
us and taught us about the Atonement.  The Mission Conference was
awesome.  I was able to meet with all of the Elders, Sisters and
Hermanas that I’ve worked with in the past, find out how my previous
areas have been doing and just enjoy talking with an observing other
missionaries.

I got to go to a Mexican party yesterday for dinner as well.  The food
was decent, but there was at least a lot of meat and fruit which I
both love.  Mexican music was blaring, kids were running around
everywhere, the women were gossiping and comparing their husbands and
their husband’s jobs, and the husbands were getting drunk and just
having a good time.  All this while the 1 actual member there who
invited us to eat is just grabbing our plates every 10 minutes and
filling it back up with more food (didn’t mind that at all).  We were
barely able to leave a spiritual thought there since otherwise that
would have just been 2 hours of Proselyting time basically wasted.

The death of Elder L. Tom Perry was very sad though.  But I am looking
forward to finding out about who the next Apostle will be since that
is always an interesting an unique occasion.

Tonight, I was able to eat dinner with a Spanish Elder who just
finished his Mission 3 weeks ago. He served in my mission.  Him and
his full family came to my area to visit with one of our recent
converts that he also worked with in the past and I was able to get to
know him and his family which is not something I ever expected to do,
but it was very cool that I was able to.

I hope everyone else is doing well.

Sincerely,
Elder Adam R. F. Scoville

Leave a Reply

